smart³ e.V.

Logo smart3
© smart3
Logo smart3

Products and components are becoming increasingly complex and increasingly interdependent. This results in greater failure susceptibility and it often increases energy consumption and space requirements too.

The smart3 innovation network is endeavouring to reduce component complexity, space requirements and energy consumption through the use of smart materials. The aim is that by making the functionality integral to the structure of the component, the construction of products and components can be simplified. This in turn makes the products and components easier to use, as well as smaller, lighter and more energy-efficient. The use of smart materials also introduces the possibility of completely new use concepts.

The smart3 initiative is a network of companies and research institutes. Its goal is to develop innovative products that use smart materials. Engineers, materials scientists, designers, social scientists and economic experts are working together in pursuit of commercial breakthroughs for these products. The wide-ranging product applications include health, climate protection, energy production, production systems and mobility.

The members of the innovation network are collaborating in R&D project groups in order to bring about a paradigm shift in product understanding. Alongside reductions in component complexity, weight and mass, the aim is to make functionality integral to the component structure so that complex functional components are no longer needed.

smart3 is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research within the "Zwanzig20 – Partnerschaft für Innovation" initiative.

Contact

Holger Kunze
Edisonstraße 4
02625 Bautzen
T +49 351-4772 2111

More information

More information

Information on the Innovation Cluster:

Members / Cluster Actors

  • Total: 149
  • Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises: 103 (of which 3 are start-ups)
  • Large-Scale Enterprises: 11
  • Universities and Colleges: 22
  • Non-University Research Institutions: 11
  • Other Organisations: 2

Member List

Fields of Research

  • Production Technology
  • Mobility
  • Health Tech
  • Building Technology
  • Lifestyle Products

Employees in Cluster Management: 5

Year Established: 2013

Excellence measures and awards

Logo des Programms go-cluster Bronze Label

smart³ e. V. | materials - solutions - growth

Logo smart3
© smart3
Logo smart3

Produkte und Bauteile weisen stetig steigende Komplexitäten und wachsende gegenseitige Abhängigkeiten auf. Damit steigen neben Störanfälligkeiten häufig auch Platzbedarf und Energieverbrauch.

Das Innovationsnetzwerk smart3 ist bestrebt, Bauteilkomplexität, Platzbedarf und Energieaufwand durch den Einsatz von smart materials zu reduzieren. Durch Integration von Funktionalität direkt in die Bauteilstruktur soll der Aufbau und damit die Handhabung von Produkten und Bauteilen signifikant vereinfacht werden. Produkte werden einfacher in der Handhabung, kleiner, leichter und energiesparender. Gleichzeitig ermöglicht der Einsatz von smart materials völlig neue Handhabungskonzepte.

smart3 ist eine Initiative von Unternehmen und Forschungseinrichtungen. Ziel des Netzwerkes ist die Entwicklung innovativer Produkte auf Basis von smart materials. Ingenieure, Materialwissenschaftler, Designer, Sozialwissenschaftler und Wirtschaftsexperten arbeiten gemeinsam am kommerziellen Durchbruch entsprechender Produkte in vielfältigen Anwendungsbereichen – von Gesundheit bis Klimaschutz, von Energieerzeugung über Produktionssysteme bis zur Mobilität.

Die Mitglieder des Innovationsnetzwerkes arbeiten in gemeinsamen FuE-Projekten an einem Paradigmenwechsel im Produktverständnis – Bauteilkomplexität, Gewicht und Masse werden reduziert, statt komplexer Funktionsbauteile soll die Funktionalität direkt in die Bauteilstruktur integriert werden.

smart3 wird gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung im Rahmen der Initiative „Zwanzig20 – Partnerschaft für Innovation”.

Ansprechpartner

Holger Kunze
Edisonstraße 4
02625 Bautzen
T +49 351-4772 2121

Weiterführende Informationen

Weiterführende Informationen

Informationen zum Innovationscluster:

Mitglieder / Clusterakteure

  • Anzahl insgesamt: 149

  • kleine und mittlere Unternehmen: 103 (davon Start-ups: 3)
  • Großunternehmen: 11
  • Universitäten und Hochschulen: 22
  • Außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen: 11
  • sonstige Organisationen: 2

Mitgliederliste

Forschungsfelder

  • Smart Materials
  • Produktionstechnik
  • Mobilität
  • Medizintechnik

Beschäftigte im Clustermanagement: 5

Gründungsjahr der Organisation: 2013

Exzellenz-Maßnahmen und Auszeichnungen

Logo des Programms go-cluster Bronze Label