BioRN Network e. V.

Logo BioRN Network
© BioRN Network
Logo BioRN Network

The “Leading-Edge Cluster for Cell-Based and Molecular Medicine” is characterized by a tight network of excellent research and a strong healthcare industry

Biotech Cluster Rhine-Neckar (BioRN) is one of Germany’s leading Cluster in the field of so-called red biotechnology. The network counts about 200 companies, societies and research institutions, all located in a 10 km perimeter of the historical region of Heidelberg, Mannheim, Ludwigshafen, Darmstadt, Frankfurt and Karlsruhe.

The Cluster is partly based on internationally renowned research institutions such as the University of Heidelberg, the University Clinic of Heidelberg, Mannheim Technical College, the German Cancer Research Center (DKFZ), the European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) and the Max-Planck-Institute for Medical Research. Furthermore, the cluster’s profile is shaped by approximately 100 small and medium-sized biotech companies as well as five global pharmaceutical companies. They develop, among other things, medication, diagnostic and technology platforms focusing on personalised medicine and cancer research.

BioRN has been honoured as a leading-edge cluster for “cell-based and molecular medicine in the Rhine-Neckar metropolitan region” by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research. This includes a subsidy of 40 million Euros of which some 40 R&D projects have benefited from between 2009 and 2013. Another success of the BioRN cluster was to be awarded a winner of the competition concerning the internationalisation of top clusters by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) in 2015. Within this measure BioRN carries out several initiatives which strengthen the internationalisation potential of SME and start-ups and the region in general since 2016.

In addition to internationalisation efforts, the support of start-ups and SME as well as technology transfer and connecting stakeholders within and beyond the cluster are in the centre of the BioRN cluster strategy.

From a regional to the European life science network

In the course of internationalization, BioRN formed an alliance with the bio-medicine clusters of Cambridge (UK), Leuven (Belgium), Maastricht (NL) and Copenhagen (DK) in 2010 (Health Axis Europe, HAE). Main goal is the empowering of innovative forces to strengthen the international competitiveness as well as the creation and coordination of joint projects with the European Union’s support.

Contact

Dr. Julia Schaft
Im Neuenheimer Feld 582
69120 Heidelberg
T +49 6221 4305-111

More information

More information

Information on the Innovation Cluster:

Members / Cluster Actors

  • Total: 200

  • Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises: 120
  • Large-Scale Enterprises: 7
  • Universities and Colleges: 5
  • Non-University Research Institutions: 6
  • Technology and Innovation Parks: 5
  • Other Organisations: 57

Key Actors

Fields of Research / Production

  • Bio technology
  • Molecular biology and medicine
  • Cancer research
  • Pharmaceutical industry

Employees in Cluster Management: 5

Year Established: 2008

Excellence measures and awards

Logo: Invented in Germany Silber Label Logo des Programms go-cluster

BioRN Network e. V.

Logo BioRN Network
© BioRN Network
Logo BioRN Network

Ein enges Netzwerk aus exzellenter Forschung und starker Gesundheitswirtschaft prägen den „Spitzencluster für Zellbasierte & Molekulare Medizin“

Der Biotech-Cluster Rhein-Neckar (BioRN) ist einer der führenden deutschen Cluster der sogenannten roten Biotechnologie. Zum Netzwerk gehören rund 200 Unternehmen, Verbände und Forschungseinrichtungen. Sie befinden sich im Umkreis von 10 Kilometern einer historisch gewachsenen Region und schließen die Städte Heidelberg, Mannheim, Ludwigshafen, Darmstadt, Frankfurt und Karlsruhe mit ein.

Der Biotech-Cluster basiert u.a. auf international renommierten Forschungseinrichtungen wie der Universität Heidelberg, dem Universitätsklinikum Heidelberg, der Hochschule Mannheim, dem Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum (DKFZ), dem European Molecular Biology Laboratory (EMBL) und dem Max-Planck-Institut für medizinische Forschung (MPImF). Rund 100 kleine und mittelständische Biotech-Unternehmen sowie fünf globale Pharmaunternehmen prägen außerdem den Cluster. Sie entwickeln u.a. Arzneimittel, Diagnostika und Technologieplattformen mit Schwerpunkt auf der personalisierten Medizin und der Krebsforschung.

BioRN wurde im September 2008 vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) als Spitzencluster „Zellbasierte & molekulare Medizin in der Metropolregion Rhein-Neckar” ausgezeichnet. Die damit verbundene Fördersumme von 40 Millionen Euro floss zwischen 2009 und 2013 in insgesamt etwa 40 F&E-Projekte. Ein weiterer Erfolg des BioRN Clusters war 2015 der Gewinn des BMBF-Wettbewerbs zur Internationalisierung von Spitzenclustern. Seit 2016 führt BioRN innerhalb dieser Maßnahme mehrere BMBF-geförderte Initiativen durch, die das Internationalisierungspotential vor allem von KMU und Start-ups, aber auch der Region im Allgemeinen stärkt.

Neben der Internationalisierung stehen nach wie vor Start-up- und KMU-Förderung, Unterstützung des Technologietransfers und Vernetzung der Akteure innerhalb und außerhalb des Clusters im Zentrum der BioRN-Clusterstrategie.

Vom regionalen zum europäischen Life-Science-Netzwerk

Im Zuge der Internationalisierung ging BioRN 2010 mit den Biomedizin-Clustern Cambridge (UK), Leuven (Belgien), Maastricht (NL) und Kopenhagen (DK) eine strategische Allianz ein (Health Axis Europe, HAE). Ziel der Allianz ist eine Bündelung der Innovationskraft der Spitzenstandorte zur Stärkung der gemeinsamen internationalen Wettbewerbsfähigkeit sowie Bildung und Koordinierung EU-geförderter Verbundprojekte.

Ansprechpartner

Dr. Julia Schaft
Im Neuenheimer Feld 582
69120 Heidelberg
T +49 6221 4305-111

Weiterführende Informationen

Weiterführende Informationen

Informationen zum Innovationscluster:

Mitglieder / Clusterakteure

  • Anzahl insgesamt: 200

  • kleine und mittlere Unternehmen: 120
  • Großunternehmen: 7
  • Universitäten und Hochschulen: 5
  • außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen: 6
  • Technologie- und Innovationsparks: 5
  • sonstige Organisationen: 57

Schlüsselakteure

Forschungs- / Produktfelder

  • Biotechnologie
  • Molekularbiologie und -medizin
  • Krebsforschung
  • Pharmaindustrie

Beschäftigte im Clustermanagement: 5

Gründungsjahr der Organisation: 1996

Exzellenz-Maßnahmen und Auszeichnungen

Logo: Invented in Germany Logo des Programms go-cluster